1703 Macomber St., Toledo, Ohio 43606

(419) 206.2190  E-Mail


The Pater Noster Psalter dates back to Apostolic times and made popular in 5th Century Germany. Making Pater Noster Beads became a cottage industry in Germany due to the popularity of the prayer. The Marian Rosary was developed from the format of the Pater Noster Psalter.  Including the Station of the Cross for the “mysteries” was not part of the original Pater Noster Psalter, being a unique contribution from Celtic Orthodoxy from the Celtic Orthodox Monastery in Bobbio, Italy in around the 13th Century. The Monastery of Bobbio was a Monastery of Celtic Orthodox Monks and established by St. Columbanus in 614. The Celtic Orthodox Monastery at Bobbio, Italy was forced to close in 1809 by French occupying forces.




The Pater Noster Psalter begins with an Act of contrition for sin prayed on the Crucifix. 




O my God, I am heartily sorry for ever having offended you, and I detest all my sins because they have offended you my God who are all good and deserving of my love. I resolve with the help of your grace to sin no more and avoid all occasions of sin.    


The Pater Noster Psalter comprises 15 Decades of 10 Our Father’s, for a total of 150

Our Father’s.  Any prayer beads can be used.  The 15 Decade Prayer beads or a five

Decade Prayer beads are most common. Although the actual Pater Noster beads are unique

in that they have little crosses to divide the decades.


On the first ‘cross’ bead immediately after the larger Cross and on every other cross bead that separates the grouping of 10 beads is prayed:


Eternal Father, almighty and ever living God; God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob; God and Father of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, we offer to you Father of mercy the Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity of your divine Son present in this mystery as a prayer of praise and thanksgiving, adoration and reparation and for my special petition which by faith I have already received from your bounty through Christ our Lord.  United with the intercession and ministry, gifts and graces, faith and merits of your Divine Son I pray in the words our Savior taught us.


This prayer is repeated before each set of 10 Our Fathers for all 15 Decades.  The Mysteries (Stations) for each Decade are as follows: 

1.    Jesus is condemned to death.

2.    Jesus is made to bear His Cross.

3.    Jesus falls the first time.

4.    Jesus meets His afflicted Mother.

5.    Simon Cyrene helps Jesus to carry His Cross.

6.    Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.

7.    Jesus falls the second time.

8.    Jesus speaks to the women of Jerusalem.

9.    Jesus falls the third time.

10.  Jesus is stripped of His garments.

11.  Jesus is nailed to the Cross.

12.  Jesus dies on the Cross.

13.  Jesus is taken down from the Cross.

14.  Jesus is buried in the sepulcher.

15.  The Resurrection.


After each decade is prayed “Holy God, + Mighty God, God immortal have mercy on me. One is Holy, + One is the Lord, + Jesus Christ, to the glory of god the father”. (The + sign indicates where you make the sign of the Cross) The Stations of the Cross (Mysteries) were codified by Francis of Assisi while he was in residence at the Celtic Orthodox Monastery at Bobbio, Italy. Feel free to substitute any other mysteries that speak to your faith.  The use of the Stations of the Cross is most common, but not mandated.


This dates back to the early church and was as big in the middle ages as the Marian Rosary is today among Catholics.  The Marian Rosary was modeled after the Pater Noster Psalter. 


The Pater Noster Psalter dates back to at least the first Century and had become popular by the 5th Century, especially in Germany.   In Germany a cottage industry was developed to manufacture “Pater Noster Beads”. 

These beads were often of precious stones but today it is mainly wood.    


The Pater Noster Psalter is designed to be prayed in three intervals of 50 Our Father’s each.

Most commonly it is prayed 5 decades in the morning, 5 decades at noon and 5 decades in the evening.






Sign of the Cross

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.


Our Father

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name; thy kingdom come; thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our trespasses; as we forgive those who trespass against us; and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. Amen.


The other prayers as noted above.


Holy Trinity Celtic Orthodox Church

1703 Macomber Street,

Toledo, Ohio 43606

Phone: 419.206.2190